DV.01 2020-09-27T17:38:54+00:00

In the 2020 season, the team constructed the historically first autonomous electric formula in the Czech Republic. The self-steering monopost was created using the mechanical design of the FSE.07 monopost, which, however, underwent a complete reconstruction from the electrical point of view. The newly formed group in the team had to deal with many new problems such as sensing and recognizing the surroundings, calculating the ideal distance, the steering itself or the emergency braking system.

Surrounding is detected by 3 stereo cameras together with LiDAR. HThe main computer unit DV.01 became a small computer from NVIDIA. Inside this small unit is a surprisingly powerful unit capable of driving an entire car. Xavier contains a powerful graphics chip that is used to process data from cameras using neural networks (YOLO v3). The turning of the wheels is realized by means of a power steering located directly in the vertical steering rod, which is able to precisely control the direction of travel of the formula thanks to a set of sensors monitoring the current turning of the wheels. The change to commercial converters was also a big change.

Frame (own proposal) Composite monococcus sandwich structure made of carbon honeycomb with aluminum honeycomb and ROHACELL® foam core with chromium molybdenum high strength main arc and TIG welded front aluminum arc
Wheelbase 1540mm
Track (front / rear) 1296 / 1230 mm
Car weight (without pilot) 202 kg
Weight distribution (front: rear) 50: 50%
Suspension of wheels (own proposal) Independent all-wheel suspension, double A-arms of unequal length on both axles
Suspension Push-rod type on both axles, Öhlins TTX 25 FSAE shock absorbers
Tires Front - AVON 16 × 7 10 ″
Rear - AVON 16 × 7 10 ″
Rifles 10 ″ - KEIZER aluminum rims, aluminum centers of own design
Engine Front - TG Drives (2 × 8,6kW); 3,5kg; max. torque 16,2 Nm
Rear - TG Drives (2 × 35,3kW); 8kg; max. torque 48 Nm
Engine inverter Lenze DCU 60/60
Maximum speed 10000 rpm rear engines; 9000 rpm of front engines
Maximum performance 87,8 kW / limited to 80 kW according to Formula Student rules
Maximum torque 882 Nm to 60 km / h
Transfer (own proposal) Planetary conversion (i = 6,95) at the front
Planetary gear (i = 6,71) at the rear
Differential (own proposal) Active electronic - each motor is controlled separately
Cooling (own proposal) Water cooling of engines and power electronics, two cooling circuits
Brake system Disc brakes on all wheels, 2-circuit system
Adjustable braking effect distribution
In front 195 mm blades, ISA Racing callipers radial fastening
Rear wheel 185 mm, ISA Racing callipers radial fastening
Battery pack (own proposal) SONY VTC5A cells - electrical configuration 96s9p
Total energy 8,1 kWh - nominal voltage 346 V, maximum voltage 403 V
Own battery monitoring and management system
Own power and measuring electronics
Own supporting structure - Kevlar sandwich composite
Electronics (own proposal) Two CAN bus:

  • Data required for driving (pedal position, safety features, battery data, wheel sensors, steering wheel, etc.)
  • Data from the remaining sensors (temperature, diagnostic data, etc.)

Vehicle dynamics control - traction control and torque vectoring are used especially in manual steering mode
Pedal unit - evaluation of pedals by independent sensors, safety functions
Dashboard - continuous display of important data (battery status, electrical protection status)
Automatic control - automatic regulation of fan speed, power limitation at low battery charge, etc.

Autonomous systems Jetson AGX Xavier Development Kit
Intel Realsense Depth Camera D435i (2x)
Stereolabs ZED
Ouster LiDAR - OS1-64
SBG Systems - Ellipse-D
Modified power steering
Steering wheel control unit (custom design)
Pneumatically designed emergency brake system

Captain of the team

Josef Med

Fakultní koordinátor

Ing. Jan Čech, Ph.D.

Driverless group

Supervisor: Marek Szeles / Marek Boháč
Technical manager: Ondřej Šereda
Daniel Štorc
Tomas Roun
Matus Obrk
Andrea Hauptová
Michal Horáček
Jan Svoboda
Matěj Kopecký
Oldrich Janousek
Roman Šíp
Vít Ramba
Matěj Zorek
Tomáš Kazda

With the support of other team groups

Project group

Supervisor: Kateřina Antošová
Adam Čumrda
Adéla Kubíková
Andrej Kružliak
Lukáš Málek
Miroslav Martinek
Pavla Lásková

Electrotechnical group

Supervisor: Michal Kopiar
Jan Čančík
Jakub Dvořák
Kryštof Cikhardt
Martin Čurda
Martin Edl
Patrik Bachan
Petr Hainc
Vojtech Michal

Mechanical group

Supervisor: Jakub Sedlář
Adam Zezula
Ilya Chaban
Josef Med
Josef Kopecký
Lukáš Kolbaba
Radek Štěpánek
Radovan Jurass