FSE.08 2020-09-22T21:18:31+00:00

For the 2019 season, the team has prepared a completely new monopost from a mechanical point of view. FSE.08 will introduce a new monocoque, which enabled the installation of an optimized battery with even better cooling. This promises faster times in the longest Endurance discipline. The monocoque is also better aerodynamically optimized and provided space for the diffuser. Together with the new rear wing, the pressure balance has been improved. Of course, the pressure is increased again and the aerodynamic efficiency is improved. The wheel group and the axles also underwent a big change. Undoubtedly, the biggest is the change of tires to the Hoosier brand and rims to magnesium OZ Racing.

The electrical group focused on improving telemetry, which involves fine-tuning traction control and adding an accurate measurement of the inertial point of the monopost. An integral part of the development was to increase the reliability not only of cable harnesses but also of the battery.

Frame (own proposal) Composite monococcus sandwich structure made of carbon honeycomb with aluminum honeycomb and ROHACELL® foam core with chromium molybdenum high strength main arc and TIG welded front aluminum arc
Wheelbase 1540mm
Track (front / rear) 1296 / 1230 mm
Car weight (without pilot) 202 kg
Weight distribution (front: rear) 50: 50%
Suspension of wheels (own proposal) Independent all-wheel suspension, double A-arms of unequal length on both axles
Suspension Push-rod type on both axles, Öhlins TTX 25 FSAE shock absorbers
Tires Front - Hoosier R10 ″
Rear - Hoosier R10 ″
Rifles Magnesium 10 ″ - OZ Formula Student Magnesium
Engine Front - TG Drives (2 × 8,6kW); 3,5kg; max. torque 16,2 Nm
Rear - TG Drives (2 × 35,3kW); 8kg; max. torque 48 Nm
Engine inverter (own proposal) MiRy XBoss
Maximum speed 10000 rpm rear engines; 9000 rpm of front engines
Maximum performance 87,8 kW / limited to 80 kW according to Formula Student rules
Maximum torque 882 Nm to 60 km / h
Transfer (own proposal) Planetary conversion (i = 6,95) at the front
Planetary gear (i = 6,71) at the rear
Differential (own proposal) Active electronic - each motor is controlled separately
Cooling (own proposal) Water cooling of engines and power electronics, two cooling circuits
Brake system Disc brakes on all wheels, 2-circuit system
Adjustable braking effect distribution
In front 195 mm blades, ISA Racing callipers radial fastening
Rear wheel 185 mm, ISA Racing callipers radial fastening
Battery pack (own proposal) SONY VTC5A cells - electrical configuration 96s9p
Total energy 8,1 kWh - nominal voltage 346 V, maximum voltage 403 V
Own battery monitoring and management system
Own power and measuring electronics
Own supporting structure - Kevlar sandwich composite
Electronics (own proposal) Two CAN bus:

  • Data required for driving (pedal position, safety features, battery data, wheel sensors, steering wheel, etc.)
  • Data from the remaining sensors (temperature, diagnostic data, etc.)

Traction control - all wheel slip control, torque vectoring
INS unit - inertial navigation system, data acquisition for traction control, possibility of more detailed driving analysis
Pedal unit - evaluation of pedals by independent sensors, safety functions
Steering wheel unit - own GUI, touch screen, possibility of car individualization, display of diagnostic data
Dashboard - continuous display of important data (battery status, electrical protection status)
Drive control motors - MiRy XBoss, dual frequency converter, for power up to 2x100kW, two converters used
Automatic control - automatic regulation of fan speed, power limitation at low battery charge, etc.

Captain of the team

Jakub Stránský

Fakultní koordinátor

Ing. Vít Hlinovský, CSc.

Project group

Supervisor: Kateřina Antošová
Kateřina Burešová
Adam Cibulka
Anna Faltýsová
Filip Machulda
Tomáš Omasta
Tereza Plšková
Marek Szeles
Jakub Vaník

Electrotechnical group

Supervisor: Ondřej Šereda
Jakub Adamík
Patrik Bachan
Jan Belák
Martin Cejp
Martin Čurda
Jan Čančík
Zdeněk David
Jan Filip
Petr Hainc
Michal Kopiar
Marek László
Filip Machulda
Eva Matějková
Jan Mánek
Jan Sixta
Emil Tywoniak
Jakub Zeman

Mechanical group

Supervisor: Radovan Juráš
Matěj Crhán
Adam Čumrda
Ilya Chaban
Václav Kasal
Lukáš Kolbaba
Josef Kopecký
Tomáš Krejčí
Adam Krupica
Nikita Kuprin
Josef Med
Jakub Sedlář
Radek Stepanek
Ondřej Štogl
Ondrej Uher
Tomáš Vrbata
Adam Zezula


General partners

Main partners

LA composite logo
SKF logo
TG drives logo
Valeo logo

Premium partners

Altium logo
Ansys logo
Dassault systemes logo
IPG automotive logo
MathWorks logo
Vector logo

Significant partners

ABB website
Awac logo
CompoTech logo
Continental logo
Junker group logo
PragoBoard logo
Würth electronics logo


4isp website
Bender website
Festo logo
GHV Trading logo
Hanon Systems logo
Hennlich logo
Iveco logo
Keller logo
Connectors Brno website
LVR logo
Omnitron logo
Silicon Hill logo
STMicroelectronics logo
Techsoft engineering logo
Trumpf logo
Institute of Aerospace Engineering logo
Department of Mechanics, Biomechanics and Mechatronics
UST logo
UTOPM logo
SPS, SOŠ and SOU, Hradec Kralove
Workswell logo